The Oscar Nominations

Are they for real?  Is Hollywood real?  Is it a reflection of reality, or just another …?  Let’s take this year’s nomination of four Oscars for Invictus.

Purportedly to tell the story of the events culminating in South Africa’s victory in the 1995 Rugby World Cup, it does nothing like that.

 Instead it raises many questions with no attempted answers.  The rugby displays are mediocre, the imitation of the South African accent and English pronunciation is as real as my Chinese or my Greek, neither that I have ever attempted.

 The entire effort was neatly choreographed to be released around the same date twenty years ago when Mandela walked out of prison a free man.  It makes no mention of why Mandela spent 27 years behind bars so one is left with the myth that he did actually go to prison for teaching Sunday school fifty years earlier.

 It does not mention or refer to the small fact that Mandela rapidly became one of the richest men in the World in a matter of five years after his release from prison; well, call it ten years if you wish.

 Who bankrolled the movie?  Who nominated it for the Oscars?  In fact, who paid how much to whom would make interesting reading if the truth is ever revealed.

 What about the Rugby Cup victory?  South Africa had just emerged from years [decades in fact] of enforced isolation in all World Sports, in which the name Mandela featured prominently.  Like it or not, Mandela was the man who had demanded the isolation.

 There is therefore a minority opposing view that the real fifteen guys played their hearts, minds and souls out to take the crown that day in 1995, in spite of Mandela and not because of him.  This viewpoint seems to ring true if what happened later is examined.  After the 1995 euphoria Mandela invited himself to the next three outings and South Africa lost all three.

 In fact, the governing Mandela ANC had virtually taken over South African Rugby on the flimsy grounds that Rugby “is a National asset” and got pretty close to ruining the game before the players revolted.

 Eastwood presumably made a good deal in his twilight years and so the main actors.  But the unanswered questions remain.

 American sportsmen would never allow their Government to interfere in the administration of sport, leave alone the selection of players in a team event.  Why did they expect that from South Africa?

22 Responses to “The Oscar Nominations”

  1. SM Says:

    Hello, Ike.

    Well, I suppose it is the prerogative of young states to accrue as much credit as they can for any good their country does. And that can involve a lot of cheating.

    I quite admire that young Mandela chap. But I reserve a foreigner’s scepticism about his political aptitude. And I do distrust hero figures who appear to be media creations. But the realpolitik is that SA needed a hero and still needs one. So there you have it.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thanks SM

      Yes, all countries need their heroes; and they have to rely on them.

      I voted for Mandela in 1994 after having spent my entire adult life in his cause. I rejoiced in 1994 but my honeymoon with them ended in 1998 when I had to face the truth.

      The sad thing is, and I say this with great sadness, is that the young people born after, say, 1980 need Mandela as a hero as much as they need holes in the head.

      But that is a long story faked lies, faked myths and half-truths that must best stand over for another day. I still appreciate your comment and wished I had your wisdom.

  2. JP Says:

    My friend, you have built yourself a very fine blog.

  3. Ike Jakson Says:

    JP

    Coming from you that is indeed a compliment. I thank you from the depth of my heart

  4. bydesign001 Says:

    Yes Ike, this is a really good post. It’s amazing how many are guilty of re-writing history. Again, unless you have lived it the truth may escape you. I also wonder who the money men and/or women are that funded this movie and their agenda.

    I am unfamiliar with the history of the Rugby team as it relates to Mandela and the time period involved, but as I said, I suspect that history has been re-written.

    Well done.

  5. Ike Jakson Says:

    Lady BD

    My criticism here is not on Mandela, please, nor on the country nor the history.

    It’s Hollywood that is sick in this instance. They did not re-write any history here; they merely blocked one hundred years of development out and pasted their version on top of it. There is nothing real, nothing whatsoever in this movie presentation.

    Hogwash is a good way to describe it. For Money? Yes!

  6. bydesign001 Says:

    I agree since I didn’t see the movie, I should not have used that phrase. Hollywood is famous for their own tainted realities. For them, the bottom line is the profits.

    Eastwood and cast plays the game quite well.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Lady BD

      What you say in your first paragraph unfortunately applies to a large part of the Media. It never fails to amaze me how people believe the drivel.

  7. sciencebod Says:

    Hello Ike

    I’ve just seen your post on MyT re that accidental deletion of your archive. I’m frankly appalled – as I’m sure most are – that ONEshite’s crappy setup can wipe archives in this fashion – at the stroke of a key- with no backup – or so we are told. (I frankly have my doubts on that score).

    Five of your recent posts are retrievable on Google cache, but I expect you know about that.

    Belt and braces:

    http://209.85.229.132/search?q=cache:aIvt4BQfzOkJ:my.telegraph.co.uk/americoon/blog/cat/general/page/2+ike+my+telegraph+blog+cat+general&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=uk

    Does this link work?

    Btw: when’s WordPress going to make Preview a standard feature – if only to check that one’s hyperlinks are live?

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Hi Sciencebod

      I appreciate your concern and your backing but I also understand the problem that the moderators must contend with. That is why I am moving over to WordPress. I have had my own Blog there for a year and it is very hard work on a lonely road until you make some friends; it took me a year to break ground but I am now at the stage where I get read and we have a small circle of independents that support each other.

      I should hope that you know about Bearsy’s WordPress site; he has taken many with him from MyT and is running a good thing there. Let me know if you do not have the link yet.

      As for knowing how to retrieve my stuff through Google, no I don’t. I am really still a computer and an IT ignoramus.

      Go well in all your endeavors.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Hi Sciencebod

      I fast-read your comment and missed the two links. After I had posted my reply to you I saw the two links and pressed on one and Bingo, there is my home page with some of my old stuff.

      How do I now get it back into my system?

  8. sciencebod Says:

    Hello Ike

    I’ve just this minute posted (again) on the trick I’ve discovered for retrieving at least some of one’s deleted posts, using Google cache.

    Because you’ve tagged many of your posts with specific Categories (avoiding the General default) it’s possible to retrieve more than 5 of yours.

    I’ve still to complete the links on the post (including this post of yours) so will be busy for the next 10 minutes or so.

    The other site? Been there, dun it, not my cup of tea).

  9. sciencebod Says:

    PS Have just seen your second comment. Sorry, you can’t restore your profile – all one is doing is accessing any snapshots that Google makes of all web pages from time to time, by clicking on the blue “cached” if/when you see under a Google search return.

  10. Mandela, the Oscar Nominations, and History « Ike Jakson’s Blog Says:

    […]  https://ikejakson.wordpress.com/2010/02/15/invictus-and-the-oscars-and-%e2%80%a6/ […]

  11. Nolanimrod Says:

    “American sportsmen would never allow their Government to interfere in the administration of sport, leave alone the selection of players in a team event. Why did they expect that from South Africa?”

    Not too many years ago politicians were grousing about there being no black head coaches in the NFL.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Nolanimrod

      I almost missed your second comment in the same Post.

      In your second line “Not too many years ago politicians were grousing about there being no black head coaches in the NFL.”

      What the Invictus filmmakers probably don’t know [or would conveniently hide if they did] was that the man they that they now honor orchestrated the international effort to ban South-Africa from all international sport, and succeeded.

      When that however did not produce the result to “crown him King and Emperor of all Africa” he unleashed the terrorists declaring [vowed] that he was going to make the country ungovernable.

      These are hard facts. And I mention but one or two.

  12. Nolanimrod Says:

    Oh – and Hollywood as a beacon of truth? Two observations.

    One: in his book poetics which is still a pretty good text on screen- and play- writing Aristotle notes that since history is specific and finite whereas art is universal and infinite the artist is under no constraints, when dealing with historical events, to stick to the facts, ma’am, and,

    Two: in the excellent move “The Stuntman,” which plays with reality so much you’re rarely likely to know what’s going on, the director tells the stunt man that the original King Kong was three and a half feet tall and anytime he had anything to do with the movie business he should remember that. In one great scene the stunt man is afraid the cops will know he’s there if they see the rushes for a certain day and the director tells him that if he likes he can see the version where the director is running on the bridge and the stunt man is the one in the helicopter.

    Hollywood shot John Clancy’s The Sum of All Fears, but they didn’t want to upset any Muslims or Arabs. So they made the bad guys Neo Nazis, except the Nazis weren’t all that Neo because they were the children of the real thing, so they were in their 70’s and 80’s and had to take whiffs of oxygen before spewing vile racial epithets. Or something.

  13. Nolanimrod Says:

    One other thing about Hollywood that I forgot that really defines the place.

    Once upon a time an actor named Bruce Lee, who was really good at martial arts, spoke Chinese, was, in fact, half Chinese, went to the TV people with an idea for a series about a guy who was really good at martial arts, spoke Chinese, and was half Chinese, his father being an American whom he was looking for in the Old West in America.

    The Hollywood TV people loved the idea and made a series out of it. They named it Kung Fu and it was, in fact, about a guy who was half Chinese, had grown up under the care of monks in China who had taught him martial arts, and was wandering the West in search of his father.

    And they hired David Carradine, who didn’t speak Chinese, didn’t know martial arts, and had to have his eyebrows shaved, his eyelids taped, and all sorts of makeup to look Chinese. Bruce Lee they told to take a hike.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Nolanimrod

      Thanks for that. I remember the Kung Fu series but did not know about the juicy part. And my generation remembers Bruce Lee.

      Look, let’s face it we all loved movies [I suppose] and some may have educational value apart from entertainment. But I don’t know what sort of minds we produce in the young ones today who lap all that stuff up as knowledge.

  14. 2010 in review « Ike Jakson’s Blog Says:

    […] The busiest day of the year was February 16th with 94 views. The most popular post that day was The Oscar Nominations. […]

Leave a Reply

