Woods in Darkness

http://swampland.blogs.time.com/2010/02/20/enough-already/

 “Tiger Woods has apologized.”  Yes Joe, he has.

 He lapped it up when the limelights were bright; that was the time for him to think about his wife, his poor young children who adore him, and maybe even about his sponsors.  Now he must atone in the same public eye where he loved to be adored.

 To compare Edwards with him now [readers, click on apologized.] and to make that unfortunate soul into the skunk in the Woods story, is folly.

 Read one comment in the Post by sacredh [comment # 18]:

“IMHO, when you sign all the endorsement deals and market yourself like Tiger did and then fail spectaculary in your personal life like he did, you deserve all the attention you get. He didn’t seem to mind all of the hundreds of millions he got for being a role model, so why give him a break when it comes out that cheated on his wife with all of the other women?

Does anyone truly believe that he didn’t know that he was a mega celebrity in the public eye? If you’re going to put yourself out there, you have a responsibility to the people that pay you the big bucks to hawk their product and to the fans that follow you. He may be the best golfer that ever lived, but he’s also one of the most shameless. I feel bad for his wife and kids. For Tiger, nothing.”

Tiger Wood sowed the whirlwind [in gay abandon] and his belated apologies come through for what it in truth is; he is feeling the money pinch as the sponsors leave the rat hole.

 Do you believe that he is sorry?  Well, I don’t.

7 Responses to “Woods in Darkness”

  1. JM Says:

    Ike, I have a theory that, when you’ve no income and a dozen ladies are after your bank account number, you’ll apologize for ANYTHING.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thanks JM

      Well, I should be safe then and not have to apologize for anything because I also have no income but neither do I have a single lady or any other ladies chasing after me or my bank account number. I think I shall sleep a lot better than the Tiger tonight.

  2. Nolanimrod Says:

    If you sleep better than Tiger it may just be because he picked the wrong nickname. Because, as everybody, at least everybody of a certain age knows …

    The Lion Sleeps Tonight
    Lyrics and Chords

    Ee-e-e-um-um-a-weh
    Ee-e-e-um-um-a-weh
    Wemoweh, wemoweh, wemoweh, wemoweh (4X)

    / G C G D / /
    / G C / G D / :

    In the jungle, the mighty jungle
    The lion sleeps tonight
    In the jungle, the quiet jungle
    The lion sleeps tonight

    / G C / G D / :

    {Refrain}
    Ee-e-e-um-um-a-weh
    Wemoweh, wemoweh, wemoweh, wemoweh (2X)
    Ee-e-e-um-um-a-weh
    Wemoweh, wemoweh, wemoweh, wemoweh (2X)

    Near the village, the peaceful village
    The lion sleeps tonight
    Near the village, the quiet village
    The lion sleeps tonight

    {Refrain}

    Hush my darling, don’t fear my darling
    The lion sleeps tonight
    Hush my darling, don’t fear my darling
    The lion sleeps tonight

    {Refrain}

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Nolanimrod

      You are the Great Hunter; I bet that’s why you recalled the song. LOL.

      I am pleased that our ways crossed and promise that my NO story will get to you one day when you least expect it.

  3. Nolanimrod Says:

    Wonderful gift! The New York Times link.

    NOTE by the Lexo the Lexicography (speak of the devil) Lion:

    “If John Edwards had been as truthful and forthcoming about his personal misdeeds, he might not be as much of a pariah as he remains even after expiating for his sins in Haiti.”

    One does not “expiate FOR …” One “atones FOR …” One “expiates.” The expiate has the FOR contained within it. Like a bowl of alphabet soup.

    OMG!!! Oh, be still my heart!! Oh, gag me with a spoon!! A NYT writer misused a BIG, HARD, WORD! Well, a HARD WORD! OK, a WORD!

    I smell A RAT! I don’t think a New York Times writer wrote that at all. I don’t think it APPEARED in the New York Times. I think Sarah Palin wrote it and some industrious, sexist, racist, homophobic, insurance-company-loving RIGHT WINGER got all the copies of the NYT, cut out the original, and pasted in the Sarah Palin version.

    Then hacked their web site.

    Is there NO LIMIT to their cunning, their deviousness in their quest to throw up roadblocks in the Path of The Progressive Epiphany!

    how’s THAT for alliteration?

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Nolanimrod

      I would like us to work together on this thing; it may be greater than you think.

      Time ran that same Edwards story just a few days ago but I will have to hunt for it. Please meantime let me have a link for the one that you quote, and I shall rush mine to you ASAP.

      Keep hunting O Mighty One.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Nolanimrod

      This is the Post I referred to in my previous comment. Is it the same one you had in mind?

      Vulnerability in a Disciplined Performance
      http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/20/sports/golf/20watch.html?ref=sports

      And about “how’s THAT for alliteration?” I think it is just fine.

Leave a Reply

