For the two children I love

This is from one of my email friends and I dedicate it to our two children.

 They are our son aged 38 in a few weeks and our daughter aged 36 end of May and they are the two people I love more than I have loved anything or anyone before.

 Our son is a man’s man and his wife will do something very nasty to him if he doesn’t behave; both of them laugh when I tell him that he has two more years of adolescence and then he will be an adult, well, maybe he will, because some men never grow up and he may be one of them.  But he is highly successful in his career, running his own business and he is one of my email friends that I sometimes refer to in my Posts.  Some of his emails are … hmmm … well, you know what a man’s man thinks about during adolescence.

 When I tell our daughter that she has four years to go to adulthood she looks at me quizzically and smiles.  She is a career girl, highly qualified, gentile with people, but she takes life far too seriously.  On the other hand I know that if I need someone to care for me in my old age she will be the one to insist that it will be her duty; it’s a very comforting thought.

 The following is probably not new to everyone but I hope it will give someone else pleasure.

  TIME GETS BETTER WITH AGE

 If all goes well, as right now, I shall reach our allotted three score and ten on August 3rd this year.

9 Responses to “For the two children I love”

  1. bydesign001 Says:

    So, so beautiful Ike. This moved me to tears. Thanks for sharing.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thank you Lady BD

      Your words mean a lot to me.

      I have had the email attachment for a long time and came across it while searching through my old archives for something else that I wanted to send to another kind Blogger.

      When I opened it and read the words again I got the shivers for my children and that is what you have read. It just jumped out of the keyboard.

      After this I would like to call you a friend and if you agree I want to ask a favor that you send me a short email just to say hello and I shall reply and explain. I promise that I will not be a nuisance.

      ikejakson@gmail.com

  2. JM Says:

    G’morning, Ike.

    A nice blog. I have two adolescent daughters also in their thirties! Also quite bossy to their wayward dad. But where would I be without them to chase me up to do the things that have to be done?

    To make matters better (or worse, depending on viewpoint) my granddaughter is just about at the bossy stage ; the stage where she knows just how lackadaisical granddads can be.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thanks Grampaw Jamie

      The attachment to my post happened to roll off my monitor while I was hunting for something else for you and it resulted in a flood of memories from which the Post itself jumped out of my keyboard.

      We have through a convoluted conflagration of strange events an extended family with me endowed with four great-grandchildren to whom our son is Dad, but that is a long story.

      Our daughter will visiting from the Olde Country in a few weeks and I have already been presented with the usual itinerary, during which time I shall be suitably lectured on the sins that I have committed, those that I still commit and those that I will undoubtedly commit after her departure, and duly admonished as she deems fit for all of them. My only retort will be to point out that we shall discuss all those matters when she reaches adulthood four years from now.

      That is the time that she stops smiling at me and when apart from failing eyesight my hearing will falter too. You have to try that when she asks whether you remembered to put on clean underpants this morning. Wink wink.

      While we are on family matters; it’s great to have you in the WordPress family.

      PS: I have since found the article that I was looking for to send to you and will do it soon.

  3. sstorm0730 Says:

    Ike, you have such a wonderful “Prairie Home Companion” way about you that is always pleasing to read. Thank you for allowing me to take a break in this calming “Scenic Lookout”.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thanks Katrina

      And you have a way to describe whatever you see in my efforts in a way as I would not think of them. The problem is that we don’t have enough time to”spend with one another” as we would when we meet over coffee or a meal with some wine. There are so many of you that I would like to meet, even old Drudge and shake his hand.

      But thanks. Your words reflect you feelings and that is good to hear.

      Go well. Regards to Truckman.

  4. A 36 year old adolescent daughter « Ike Jakson’s Blog Says:

    […]  https://ikejakson.wordpress.com/2010/03/09/for-the-two-children-i-love/ […]

  5. Levent Says:

    Excellent!

    Once again, I wish you a very happy birthday Ike!

Leave a Reply

