Rest Area at next exit

You have read my Post [I hope] but if you have not done so before you may take a while and read it now:

https://ikejakson.wordpress.com/2009/09/25/life-is-a-journey/

Every traveler needs to rest during long trips and provision is made for it by thoughtful planning of wise authorities in Government and public design.  It may just be a bench in the park or if you are really tired one of the beautiful well equipped Rest Areas on the American Interstate Routes where you can get your coffee and even take doggy for a stroll in landscaped surroundings designed for this purpose.

If you are the unwise sort traveling from one city to another and yet another you may have to make do with coffee shops or the steps in front of City Hall but there will always be some place to rest the weary legs.

Rest Areas on Life’s Journey are by nature different because the Journey is in the mind; the spirit or the soul of inner man however, needs to rest; it needs replenishment of your inner resources; you need to recharge the spirit.

For that Governments do not cater.

You have to know when you need rest and you will have to find the time and the place to do so.  But you have to do it; in fact it is more important than physical body rest because spiritual weariness is far more serious than the needs of the body.

It may sometimes be possible to do both at the same time and in the same place; fisherman do that I think [why else somebody will go fishing I cannot fathom] and I have known some who do it with great success.  Once I met a fellow in a large State Park on the river that forms the Stateline between southern Georgia and Alabama in The States.  I found a secluded spot for my RV and noticed there was only one other fellow.  I walked over the next morning and met a forty year old business executive with his twelve year old son sitting at the waterside.  They had been there a week and were staying another; fishing was just an excuse; father and son were bonding [a most beautiful event to behold] and I left them the space to continue with it; the appreciation in the eyes of man and boy told me all the thanks I needed and we just waved at each other when I pulled out early next morning; their lines were still just hanging in the water; but the brief encounter with them had replenished me too.

I am at a rest area of my own right now but will tell you about it another time.

Take care, my friends.

5 Responses to “Rest Area at next exit”

  1. What are the holes in a Logitech MX3200 keyboard for? Says:

    […] Rest Area at next exit « Ike Jakson’s Blog […]

  2. Brendano Says:

    Good post, Ike, and very true.

  3. Life is a Journey for Two « Ike Jakson’s Blog Says:

    […] https://ikejakson.wordpress.com/2010/06/04/rest-area-at-next-exit/ […]

Leave a Reply

