A very thin line to Wisdom

Life is a Journey; so I have said more than once.

I have done most of it but I am still young enough to remember when I was twenty and knew everything; no problem was too big for me not to have the solution in two minutes flat.

But now that I have been on the Journey long enough I have come to realize how thin and fragile the line is that separates wisdom from knowing everything and though I crossed the line backwards and forwards a number of times I think that I have now found how to stay on the right side.

The last few years before I reached my three score and ten recently I hovered a bit but I think that I have now made it.  Some wise guy said something to the same effect sometime but I will put it in the words that cover the Truth for me.

 I have finally discovered how little I know, firstly.  Secondly I have learned to accept that I still have a long way to go and that there will be more things that I don’t have to know.

 I also accept that I shall acquire Wisdom the day when I can work out the difference between what I have to know and what I don’t have to know.

Please also read:

https://ikejakson.wordpress.com/2009/09/25/life-is-a-journey/

7 Responses to “A very thin line to Wisdom”

  1. bydesign001 Says:

    Life is indeed a journey dear Ike. Admittedly though, it would have been all the sweeter had we ACTUALLY figured it out at 20. Knowing the silly decisions that I made at 20, I no longer want to kick myself. I just chalk it up to life and how we continue to grow and move on.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Hi Lady BD

      I so much wanted a comment from you because I gathered from the time that we had that New York discussion that you have a keen grasp and understanding of how we grew up.

      It is so precious to know that someone else not only understands that but actually shares it with you.

      Well, the mistakes we made …. I discovered mine and learned from them.

      Bless you dear heart.

  2. Cheechdog Says:

    Hello Ike, good blog.

    How true, every word you wrote.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thanks Cheechdog

      It is always nice to hear your voice. We are getting older and things get clearer as we go along. I merely recorded my mood of the moment and I am glad that you enjoyed it.

  3. Nolanimrod Says:

    Also how to figure out the tip on 47.19 in your head.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Nolanimrod

      I am afraid you’ve got me on “the tip on 47.19 in your head” and you have to clarify. Don’t keep me in suspense.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Now I got it. It’s 7 dollar 81 cents for a total of 55 bucks. There is a quick shortcut; works every time but will tell you later.

Leave a Reply

