My ole Grandpaw had a donkey cart

It’s true folks; ole Grandpaw had a donkey cart and about eight donkeys from which he selected four when he needed to use the cart.  His regular head donkey was named Morkel and pulled on the left front; the other regular Bliksem pulled rear right and the other two were selected at random.

Morkel and Grandpaw had a special relationship; they understood each other.  Gramps spoke to him gently on the out trip but it was rarely necessary because Morkel kept the team on the right side of the road.  Getting ready to return home from wherever we had gone Grandpaw would pat Morkel on the head, feed him the choicest carrot plus a good one each to the other three and hug Morkel before he would take the seat and just said:

“Home Morkel.”

Morkel would see us home while Grandpaw regaled his three grandsons aged eight, ten [that was I] and twelve with his many tales.  Grandpaw was a big tall powerful man with a bald head from the 1918 Great Flu epidemic.  He was born in 1877 and died gently in his sleep at the ripe age of 88 in 1965 when I had just turned 25 years old.

Now recently turned 70 I needed some World Population Statistics as a side thread for a novel that I will call My Genesis for this Post.  It has another name already but you will see it when it is published and it will be in the genre of Historical Novels for the World from approximately 1750 to this year of 2010 and I found myself thinking of Grandpaw; for some reason I interrupted my Internet connection and decided to do this Post.

Have you ever tried to find any reliable information on the topic with at least two experts who actually agree with one another on how many people lived in the World at 4000 BC and then at intervals of 500 years until the World Population reached the 1 billion mark somewhere around 200 years ago?

Try some of this and open some of the links that you get as you go along:

http://geography.about.com/od/obtainpopulationdata/a/worldpopulation.htm

http://www.google.co.za/search?sourceid=ie7&q=World+Population+Statistics&rls=com.microsoft:*:IE-SearchBox&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&rlz=1I7ACEW_enZA348ZA348

http://www.census.gov/ipc/www/worldhis.html

Have a good laugh when you get this far, or smile at least and do what I did to relax in between.  Just Google the word Dinosaurs, and see what you get.  Yeah, spend a little while looking at Dinosaurs.

Things were so much simpler in the days when Grandpaw lived.  It was in 1950 that I made that trip with my brothers when I was ten years old.

 How I miss ole Grandpaw today?

7 Responses to “My ole Grandpaw had a donkey cart”

  1. Cheechdog Says:

    Ike, thanks foe a very good blog, it broght back memories fo my grandfather who was a farmer in Oklahoma. He never owned a tractor always using his team of horses to do everything. I can only remember one of the horses name and her name was Bess. I remember riding the three miles into town in a wagon and hearing him give the usual Gee, Haw, whoa, and giddiup. That’s all he needed to get him where he wanted to go, he never drove a car in his life.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thanks Cheechdog

      I knew from things that you mentioned in the past that you would understand this. A wonderful life they had. And I am going to get out of the serious stuff as much as I can and have some fun.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Cheechdog

      You know I could almost swear that one of ole Grandpa’s donkeys was called Bessie or something like that.

  2. boudicabpi Says:

    Hi Ike,
    Just hit here from BD’s site. Thanks for the link.
    Bob A.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Hi Boudicabpi

      It’s wonderful to see you. And no need to thank me. You made my day about the story of your son. I respect you, ole friend. God bless your dear hearts.

  3. JM Says:

    Great memories lead to great tales, Ike. The simpler the memory, the better the tale, for it reminds of the things that mattered when we were young and we were laying the foundations of our personality.

    My own family had a strained relationship with all my grandparents, which only served to encourage me to seek them out. Without my grandmother (Nan) I should never have set foot in a museum or art gallery ; I should never have climbed to the top of Rochester Castle, never have seen the Tate or British Museum ; indeed, never have been to London at all, though it was only thirty odd miles away. She was a steady rock in my crazy home world. So those memories of her and her outings are all the more precious.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thanks Jamie

      It is not every day that I write something worth for you to visit and writing little lately makes it a special honor to have you here.

      And then your story is so much better than mine too. One day I shall tell you about the importance of grandparents for the little ones. We only knew our maternal grandparents but we were fortunate to have both of them. I was filled with emotion when I wrote this Post about Grandpa; he meant a lot to us. BUT/AND he means even more today because I find as I am growing older that I have a standard in him by which I can measure myself. Is that weird? Some I am sure, may call it that but to us he was very real and his standards have never failed us.

      Please allow me a little nostalgia in closing. When I was in my early twenties someone asked whether Grandpa was growing old to which another older person in the company who also knew Grandpa answered on my behalf:

      “He is not growing old at all; he is just maturing gracefully.” Isn’t that a gem?

Leave a Reply

