An Analysis of 2011 in Time

The subject of time over the past few centuries has been “top of my mind” for some time and I have often referred to it in Blogging though I have lately realized that it has to be done rather sooner than later.

Much has been written on certain periods; a period sometimes spanning several centuries but I have found that a detailed study of shorter periods can be more productive; and easier for the reader or student too.

If we look at the World of 1810 and realize it is only two hundred years ago, you won’t recognize much of what you see today.  Go back another 200 years to see what we had on January 01, 1611 you won’t recognize anything.  Yes, they had some old arts; the written word did exist in some parts but not in all.  A few old sail-boats were out on the seas; but that was just about it.  The World Population is estimated to have been approximately 500 million people at that stage.

This subject has intrigued me for a very long time; it baffled me for a longer time but I could not find a way to place mankind and history into separate compartments in order to find common ground or distinct differences.

Until very recently, that was.

I had long ago realized that the professional historian would be far better qualified to look at history prior to the seventeenth century; so I discarded my efforts and started looking at the four centuries from 1600; in this process I got myself so well and truly muddled up that I seriously considered quitting.  I could not separate one century from the other without a proper tool to put them back together again until it struck me in the year just past at midnight last night.

You can put history together in compartments of half centuries and work on each one without disturbing the overall grand design if you wish to call it that.

I started all over but soon discovered that I don’t have much need for the first two centuries that I had previously intended to include; out you go 1600 and 1700 [for the historian].

Suddenly I found myself with 200 years and that I could put each century in two compartments; thus ending with four half century periods with clear markers [I shall explain that later] at beginning and end.

I also discovered that there is almost always an overlap in “historical markers” [the ordinary time effect] but this lead me to concentrate my thoughts on the most visible markers, which in the end lead me to choose the following periods for the purposes of my research:

1810 to 1860, 1860 to 1910, 1910 to 1960 and finally, 1960 to 2010.

I like to refer to the periods as Cycles [or Circles] in World events and have written several Posts on the theme in the past.  If you Google ‘Ike Jakson Cycles Circles World Events’ you will probably find most of them.  The idea of “time frames” is new and a first for me.

Maybe the professional historian will find many reasons to fault me straight away but I am looking forward to learning.  On the other hand I believe that history writes itself and it is unfortunate that the interpretation of history far too often depends on who wrote [or re-wrote] it and on who reads which version of it.  That again I leave to the historians.

My last point in this Post is that I am doing this for the people and not for the “big names” in history.

 I must conclude because the findings that I hope to record will be done over a series of five [5] more Posts after this one and something I read in another Post today helped me to make up my mind to start the series with a forward look into the period from 2010 to 2060.

 The latter will probably appear under the title of An Analysis in Time to come 2010 to 2060 in the next few weeks.

4 Responses to “An Analysis of 2011 in Time”

  1. christophertrier Says:

    The important thing to truly understanding history is not to look at using a linear perspective. There is a human tendency to organise and rationalise the world. In mathematics numbers go from null to infinity in both directions, each numeral representing a greater value than the one that came before or after it. Human nature does not follow these patterns.
    In my study of history, I’ve found that the further up I have moved the less order is forced on the information. Rather than using the traditional linear perspective on history, one based on simply putting information in the order of events is used. (Yes, that sounds muddled because it is muddled. There is not a simple, clean progression from the beginning to the end — there are ups and downs, reversals and changes at all times)
    Your description of the matter is more accurate than you would have thought. Professional historians tend to focus on a particular theme, era, or place. If that place has a long recorded history a focus is put on eras within that place. My chief professor is an expert on Modern China with a focus on the Ming and Ch’ing dynasties. My field of study is predominantly cross-cultural contact with an increasing focus on Asia, especially Macau, Hong Kong, and Taiwan. Others study women in Modern Europe, slavery in the Classical Period, usw. It is simply impossible for anyone to become an authority in every aspect of history so one must focus on a certain aspect of it while getting a general sense of what happened elsewhere.
    Good luck in the new year.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Christopher

      I appreciate your comment more than you would have thought. You will recall our discussions on the dream I have with my project.

      Yes, I am but acutely aware of the risks in using the linear process. What I am really doing in the six Posts that I have in mind is to set my initial thoughts down in a manner that I will easily retrace. There will be cross-references in my final work but no stilted straight lines.

      And I hope that you will be along with me as my guide. I was very interested in what you are doing now; do let me know from time to time.

  2. nolanimrod Says:

    Making sense of history can be tricky.

    By 1882, for example, they had “discovered” the New World, established the doctrines of Natural Law and God-given rights, circumnavigated the globe, invented steam power, harnessed electricity, and made the first radio broadcast.

    But they still hadn’t invented the zipper.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thanks Nolanimrod

      That is mankind spot on. They have now discovered that there may be water on Mars, or Jupiter or somewhere, but not yet how to live together with your neighbors or feed the hungry children in North Africa.

      And even Presidents don’t know when to close the zip or when it is proper to open it.

Leave a Reply

