Insanity of War on Libya

I feel exactly like someone in the know who closes this Swampland Post down with “but I mainly just have a horrible feeling in the pit of my stomach.”

http://swampland.blogs.time.com/2011/03/17/war-with-libya-looms/

Who in a sane mind wants to start a war with Libya?  For what purpose will anyone even consider such madness?

Why?

But there is hope.  Look and take note of the names of the countries that abstained from voting.

 “While the resolution passed 10 to 0, there were five abstentions, including China, Germany and Russia. That suggests the international community is not united in the Libyan operation, especially if it drags on.”

 I rest my case.

PS: Thanks Anastasia!

http://anatheimp.blogspot.com/2011/03/keep-out-of-libya.html

It was good finding someone sharing my views on what is nothing other than another form of terrorism; call it what you like but that is exactly what it is.

10 Responses to “Insanity of War on Libya”

  1. nolanimrod Says:

    If ever I find myself on the same side of an issue as Putin and Hu I know it’s time to check on how I framed the issue in the first place. But I fear that for the U.S. Libya never figured in the discussion, but, rather, that it is time for The One to look tough so there won’t be any more commercials about 3 AM in the next electoral joust.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Hi Nolanimrod

      I like the reference to 3 AM electoral jousting; it’s a great line.

      On finding yourself on the same side as some others old friend, that’s not where I would have preferred to be but they are taking the correct course right now. Lobbing hardware at Libya now will forever be compared with hitting a mosquito with a sledgehammer.

      And it is an internal Libyan affair, like Egypt was; it almost seems as if the US want some more enemies so badly that will even create them out of previous friends. For the first time ever in my life I question the sanity of an American President.

  2. nolanimrod Says:

    John Bolton on Libya:

    Washington — John Bolton, the former U.S. ambassador to the United Nations, tells National Review Online that President Obama is dithering on Libya. “Every hour that goes by shows me how [Obama] is not ready for this,” he says. “I am feeling sick to my stomach that we are into something where the president does not know what he is doing.”

    The president, in a short speech at the White House this afternoon, called on Moammar Qaddafi, Libya’s embattled leader, to step down and cease fire on civilians or face military action from the United States and its allies. Obama’s remarks focused on a U.N. Security Council resolution, passed Thursday, that authorizes military action.

    Bolton notes that the president did not establish a deadline for Qaddafi or explain how he would proceed militarily. This lack of a clear strategy, he worries, could inflame the situation.

    “We have lost a huge opportunity by waiting to act so late,” he says. “A real president would have had his military plan ready to go the minute that resolution was adopted, and he would have implemented it.”

    “It sounds like [administration officials] are still talking, still considering,” he continues. “The conclusion Qaddafi may draw from this is that he has more time. If that’s right, and we are not prepared to act, the position of the opposition will be even more difficult than it already is.”

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Nolanimrod

      You state this well; suffices for me to add that the guy has always been way out of his depth on international affairs, in particular, and governing in general. He is simply not made from the material you need in a President.

  3. anatheimp Says:

    Great stuff, Ike. I am just so angry over this. Have a look at my latest posts http://anatheimp.blogspot.com/2011/03/angst-ridden-president.html and http://anatheimp.blogspot.com/2011/03/cassandras-lament.html I really am the daughter of Cassandra.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Hi Anastasia

      I am pleased that you agree with me because we seem to be in the minority; it works that way often, I suppose.

      Give me a little time to read your two Posts and I shall try to comment in them.

      I have never been a fan of Gadaffi but to invade Libya to depose him [much like the Egypt affair] is wrong and I find myself at this stage in my life opposed to America for the first time ever. And they know that they are doing it for other reasons; protecting democracy and the civilians is a blatant lie. This “war” is to take control over Libyan Oil.

  4. Bob Mack Says:

    I don’t think you’re in the minority on this one, Ike (http://crockettlives.wordpress.com/2011/03/21/obamas-libyan-adventure-whats-in-it-for-him/). I don’t know about the oil takeover, but I know the Gadaffi opposition is full of radical Islamists & al-Qaeda types–Obama’s kind of people.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Hi Bob

      Thanks for dropping in.

      Yeah, I may have put a little more emphasis on the oil side but I am sure it was in the back of the minds of the “10 Coalition Votes” that Obama got to justify this monstrous attack.

      I have never been a Gadaffi fan and we often ridicule the old sod down here but he is the de facto leader and President of a sovereign country. That should be defended; not attacked at will for whatever reason.

      The human rights issue did not feature in this at all; it was merely a smokescreen and I am disappointed seeing/hearing so many Republican voices approving of this invasion. It spells bad news for Africa and the region.

      I will study your Post in the next minute.

  5. kaiology Says:

    One more instance of Obama disregarding the Constitution, as Gene Healy points out http://www.cato.org/pub_display.php?pub_id=12899
    Along with other libertarians, I have been opposed to such heavy-handed meddling in other nations’ affairs. While Gaddafi’s actions against his people are deplorable, the West is stepping into one more hornet’s nest where no one knows the consequences or duration of military involvement. I’m kind of glad Germany abstained at the UN vote!

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Hi Kai

      What a pleasure to see you? I have not been much about Blogging lately to give my eye some rest; then Egypt followed so soon by Libya left me despondent about it all.

      I see you getting on real well and will drop in again sometime.

Leave a Reply

