To be 17 again

The first time was today 54 years ago; so well do I remember it.  I was four months from matriculating and life was beckoning.

 There have been ups and downs.  Kennedy took over and so did Jomo Kenyatta, Patrick Lumumba to kill Moise Tsombie; eventually Mandela was crowned to be followed as was his birthright by Obama.

 Screw them all.

 Today belongs to me; it is my day and I have decided to do it my way; thanks Frank, that song was good and I shall be singin’ it all day.

 To all the young people of 71 out there in the World today;  bless you boys and girls, but boys, you be careful of loose women of 45; they aren’t good for you.

 Have a great Day.  Love you lots.

8 Responses to “To be 17 again”

  1. cheechdog Says:

    Happy birthday Ike,

    I called this morning and got your recorder. I’ll try again after I get back from work. at (0900) this morning.

    Jim

    P.S. I disagree with you about the “loose women of 45”. :^)

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Home safe and sound just on noon after a delightfull visit to a wonderful family gathering, we walked the old roads and held each other close. Boetie came in and Ouboet was there too in and out while we talked and loved. Some of the children of then and now were about; it made up for the times we missed out on so much. Yes, this is quite true; I hope you all will understand. My second 17 was even better than the first one.

  2. Cheech Says:

    It sounds like you had a wonderful day and that’s the way it should be.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thanks Cheech

      It was great and I receive d all your calls on my landline message system. I appreciate it though as you now gather I was out the whole day and stayed over too. Die you call on Skype?

  3. bydesign001 Says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Ike, May the Heavenly Father bless you. Hope you enjoyed your day my friend.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thanks Lady BD

      I visited and had a delightful time at a wonderful
      family gathering; we walked the old roads and held each other close. Boetie came in and Ouboet was there too in and out while we talked and loved. Some of the children of then and now were about; it made up for the times we missed out on so much. I hope all will understand. My second 17 was even better than the first one.

  4. bydesign001 Says:

    And yes, I agree, to be 17 again. My 18 year old great niece moved in with me a week ago. I too, look at her and say to myself, to be, to be.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Lady BD

      If she moved in with you she must have chosen you; that would be great and knowing you I am sure you will both be happy.

Leave a Reply

