Three down, one to go …

“The history of evolution is a recounting of frauds and hoaxes. Here is one of them. Evolutionary theory is a myth.”  That’s what the man said.

 The story of Piltdown Man

 A year from tomorrow will present another test of how people prefer the lie to the truth; my buddy from Upper New York State will say that fairy tales go down better than old-fashioned truth.

Tags: ,

18 Responses to “Three down, one to go …”

  1. JM Says:

    Morning, Ike, I hope all’s well with you and yours.

    I have often wondered why people’s beliefs are so strong that some are prepared to lie about them. Why do some people, who are so very rational in most respects, lose their heads when it comes to discussing what they believe about such things as science, politics and religion – and other people?

    Perhaps our ultimate beliefs are not rational at all. Or is it that they are just too difficult to explain?

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thanks Jamie

      I am not very active in Blogging at the moment and appreciate your visit.

      I often wonder about the same things that you mention but need to make haste to explain that it was pure mischief on my part when I saw this version of the Piltdown Man; my Blogging efforts are now down to “one a month” just to keep the account going and I thought a bit of satire would be appropriate this time.

      I had read a fair amount on the missing link before but happened to come across this version for the first time whilst looking for something else and was amused by the style [and, of course, being me, by the method] that the writer employed to have a dig at old Charles.

      I would also add my belief that the Piltdown “scientist” was motivated by money rather than beliefs; that people cannot see that amazes me.

      We are well; our soon to be adult daughter is out here for the second time this year; thanks to you and all yours for taking care of her over there. I was pleased to learn that she has now applied for citizenship; our loss will be your gain.

      Do go well.

  2. elcampeador Says:

    I had read a fair amount on the missing link

    Doing an in depth on obama are you? 😉

    Be well my friend..

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Hi JP, the Great One

      Actually I was, yes; though I was also referring to the idiots who put him there; voters should pass exams before they are allowed to … agh well.

      I am down a bit, surely you see that. My hopes were on Herman; in my mind the only person capable of beating the Idiot Kid in a straight fight without being able to use the race card.

      Where is America heading? The same way we went? It occurs to me at times that you have overtaken us.

      Fight dear friend; you will and I know that. Will enough others join you?

      • elcampeador Says:

        Lord knows where the U.S. is “heading”, Ike. The coming election will let all know which direction the nation prefers.

        Should obama loose, then we may have the ‘hope’, because we will have the ‘change’, to move forward once again.

        After the performance, of wonder boy, there had better be “enough others” that give a message to another one time wonder boy and NAZI helper, George Soros. That message should be, take your money and stick it, George!

        All I can tells’ya’ Ike..When you open your eyes each morning, you’ve already won the day. 🙂

        Be well.

      • Ike Jakson Says:

        Elcampeador

        I shall open my eyes every day as you suggest because we were raised to do it that way.

        But … perhaps it will not be so bad. It is not in my hands anyway.

  3. JM Says:

    Morning, Ike,

    Yes, there are enough good reasons for feeling a bit down these days. Sometimes I just go with the flow in political/moral matters ; but always have my say when the time is right.

    Our good friend Marya often cheers me up … http://atomsofstars.wordpress.com/2011/11/21/to-a-butterfly/#comment-587

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Hi Jamie

      It’s so nice of you to visit the lonely; it proves somebody cares.

      I am a little out of action these days and read a little but nothing else much; it’s good if you have a friend to cheer you up.

      But it is not out of touch out of heart; a view from afar has always helped me to regain my own perspective, even when it is only for my own self.

      Our 38 year old adolescent daughter is now a UK citizen; she got it Thursday last week and we are all happy for her. I so wish you can meet her one day. I have often told her about you.

      Do keep well.

  4. Bob Mack Says:

    Howdy, Ike. Just wanted to drop by & wish you & yours a Merry Christmas.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thanks Bob

      I appreciate; and the same to you and yours.

      The year has in many ways not been a good one but it being often what we make of it we must all try to make the next one better for all of us.

  5. JM Says:

    So you, too, have a 38 year old adolescent daughter, Ike! I’m so pleased that she seems to be happy in our little country. I’ll send some merry thought-waves for Christmas.

    When the days are dark and the nights long, I sometimes cheer myself up by watching CDs of old films and tv programmes. I watched Pride and Prejudice last week, and felt so cheered that I read the book as well. A delightful tale from a very astute writer, wise beyond her years.

    If you had a PO Box, I’d willingly send a copy….

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thanks so much Jamie

      Our daughter is very happy in Yorkshire though she had lost her heart in Aberdeen Scotland. She has a senior post and is becoming a career lady.

      I Googled the title of the book that you mention because I had read or heard about it elsewhere/somewhere before and was really impressed by the Google info. It sounds like the times and the way of life in a period that I enjoy reading on; so don’t threaten me; it is just possible that you may find a certain SA PO Box address in your email.

      I shall work on Yorkshire to work up a desire to meet someone I enjoyed meeting in Blogging. I once recall that he also reads Mark Twain; so do she and her old father in SA.

  6. Bob Mack Says:

    Merry Christmas to you & your family, Ike. Hope all is well.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thanks Bob

      And the same to you and the ones you love. I am waiting for 2011 to end; it has not been a good one for the entire World and I sure hope the next one will be better or at least so for all the good people like you.

      God bless you; stay with His love.

  7. bydesign001 Says:

    Indeed they dearest Ike.

    Unfortunately the world would rather swallow down a pack of ugly lies because the truth is so difficult to digest.

    Here is wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas my friend.

    Peace and blessings, Sir Ike. God bless you.

    Denise

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      My dear Denise

      What a pleasure?

      This has been a dull and an awful year for me and I am not up to much at this time as you know. It makes your visit so much more and all I can say is a big thank you. My wishes for you and your loved ones are returned in double measure.

      Next year will be a watershed year I believe; my hopes are that it will be a good one for America and especially for a fine lady named Denise in the Great Apple.

      The Lord blesses you, lovely woman.

  8. elcampeador Says:

    Merry Christmas to you and yours, Mr. Ike Jakson..

Leave a Reply

