The Price of Freedom

The old cliché that” there is no free lunch” remains a wisdom known to few.

 Nothing in the World is free; it only depends on the price tag, and it is so with Freedom too.

 Unfortunately Africa has not yet woken up to the fact that we all pay for Freedom with our individual Liberty, the most precious possession there exists.

 Liberty does imply Freedom; yes, I don’t deny that but the day that Liberty becomes the currency that we use to pay for Freedom that Freedom isn’t worth a bean.  Liberty more than anything implies unrestricted Freedom of the mind; when Freedom costs you the ability to let your mind soar free you are in bondage worse than slavery.  There is no escape route from the bondage of voluntary submission to this weird Freedom of modern times.

 Despair awaits those born under this illusion of Freedom and though some sort of realization is dawning in the minds of the over forties of today the generation born since 1990 don’t seem to realize that the mortgage on the property has to be paid for; it may be too late for them to ever be free I guess.

 Liberty of the mind is too precious to risk for anything.  I am a Free Man only because I have never mortgaged my Mind and I never shall.

12 Responses to “The Price of Freedom”

  1. NEO Says:

    Seems like, Ike, that we have a lot of people that confuse Liberty with libertine. While related, they certainly aren’t the same. Good post, Ike.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thanks Nebraska

      I must still get used to your new Neo Blog name and will try, but I was fond of your style when I first saw your Posts and Nebraska came easy off my tongue after my visit there a few years back.

      Words are the most abused inventions of Mankind; you may or may not know that I have a kind of series going on New, Neo or Nu Speak. Freedom, Liberty, Liberal and another few have been turned into Newspeak as per Orwell. These words are used and twisted to fit political or strange foreign agendas of twisted minds.

      Oh well, I suppose that we will start all over one day and not mess it up again.

      I am not much good at Blogging these days; my eye [s] and I are kind of out of zinc and it is a battle. Thanks for dropping in though. Do keep well.

      • NEO Says:

        A fair number still call me Nebraska, which I like, the new screenname was a concession to easy typing and what many also called me, I get lazy too 🙂

        We’ll have to start over but like always at some point they’ll mess it up again. That seems to be the way the world works.

        It’s good to see you on, occasionally, my friend, and as you know I commiserate with eye problems. Keep well, Ike, my friend.

  2. Ike Jakson Says:

    Thanks Nebraska. It’s very gracious of you.

  3. JP Says:

    ” I am a Free Man only because I have never mortgaged my Mind and I never shall”

    I second that,most learned one. AND I shall die that way. Second option: those that try me just may, have their ticket punched on this beautiful blue orb.:

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      That’s the spirit, JP. I just knew you would say that but I am pleased you did to confirm my thinking.

  4. JP Says:

    Damn right Sir Ike. Both of us have the same type blood coursing our arteries and veins Tick us off once, our fault, but you don’t get the second “tick me off” chance. 🙂

    What’s not to like? lol

  5. JP Says:

    Reblogged this on et cetera* and commented:
    “I am a Free Man only because I have never mortgaged my Mind and I never shall.”

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      Thanks for this too, good Friend. It reminds me of the old days when we shared so much. Let us continue with the good old times and the ways of our Fathers.

    • Ike Jakson Says:

      I appreciate, old Friend

Leave a Reply

