August 3rd, 2015

I had known for years ever since I first learned to count that August 3rd [a normal Saturday] was the day the Stork delivered me to Momma and Daddy.  They told me that I would have a birthday every year on the same day and if I be good I would get a small gift every year on my birthday.

 

In the meantime time past much too quick and since the turn of the century even quicker.

 

By late last year I realized that it makes 75 years in total from 1940 to 2015 and I started wondering whether I would be safe getting up every morning.

 

But I have always been one for adventure and decided to take my chances and the plan started during the night of August 2nd this year of 2015.

 

I took my chance, the biggest one I have ever taken, and when the clock struck 6 AM I got up, still dressed in my nightgown turned the kettle on and made myself a steaming mug of coffee.

 

Nothing went wrong; here I am today, still alive and unscathed.  Nothing will ever make me hesitate again; let them come.  I am ready for all of them.

 

Ike Jakson

In Americus GA saka Americoon

ikejakson@gmail.com

 

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Take a Chance on Me.”

Leave a Reply

